I (Love)^2 Lettuce

As promised, the first of my LUSH Cosmetics reviews!

As you can probably tell from the title, last night, my sister and I tried their Love Lettuce Fresh Face Mask! In their catalog, the mask is described for use in order to achieve “softer, more balanced skin” and contains almond shells, french lavender, seaweed gel and honey. For $6.95, I received a sizeable pot with a substantial amount of product. Interesting tidbit – the ingredients used are so fresh that LUSH fresh face masks must be kept in the refrigerator in order to maintain the integrity of its ingredients and its freshness.

First and foremost, I adore the packaging of LUSH products. Maybe I’m a minimalist, but I love the simplicity, the eco-friendliness as well as the streamlined look that their packaging affords their customers.

photo 2 photo 1

As you can see above, the front face of the packaging states the name of the product, a brief description and lets you know that this is a refrigerated product. The side label has all the ingredients, notation on their fight against animal testing as well as lets you know that their pots are 100% recycled plastic and can be reused or brought back to the store (5 empty pots = one free face mask)! Opening up the little pot, you not only get a whiff of a delicious mixture of lavenders and a fresh breeze, you can see that there’s a substantial amount of product inside. Both my sister and I used this same pot to cover our entire faces today and it looks like we barely made a dent in it!

photo-2

Now, for application: ensuring that my hands were clean, I began by taking small amounts of the mask onto my fingers and smoothing them onto my face gently. The product isn’t a smooth mask – the almond shells add a pleasant, grainy texture that feels like a massage when putting the mask on. It’s lovely, especially coupled with the cooler temperature of the product. My skin was feeling soothed immediately. Another nifty thing is that you can really see all of the fresh ingredients (and smell them, in the case of the honey and lavender) as you’re putting on the mask so I was so secure in the fact that this mask was all natural, which is important for a sensitive-a-saurus like myself. On the skin, it looks like this:

photo 3

You can see that the seaweed gel and the bits of almond shell are definitely visible and the product itself has a lovely green tint to it, reminiscent of the old-school clay masks that many of us are used to. After five to ten minutes, I used warm water and rinsed off the mask and my skin was light and cool to the touch as well as feeling super smooth. This mask, according to my favorite Lush beauty experts, can be used on the regular and is one of their more popular masks!

At $6.95 and with a decent amount of mask in my little plastic pot, I’ll definitely be buying this product again.

Love, PB

Product Summary:

Love Lettuce Fresh Face Mask, $6.95 – LUSH Cosmetics

Any of you have any LUSH product recommendations? Any favorites? Likes ? Dislikes? Thoughts on the Love Lettuce Fresh Face Mask? Comment below and let me know!

One comment

Leave a Reply

