By Way of Introduction

Now that I’ve gotten a few posts under my belt, I think it’s time that I take the time to introduce myself to the blogosphere! Those of you who have already read my About Me page already have a brief idea of what the inside of my brain is like, but in truth, there’s a little more to me than meets the eye!

In the spirit of full disclosure, I’ve decided to do this Q&A style and have formulated some answers from all of you based off of blogs I’ve seen. Don’t worry, I’ll fill in the gaps with fun descriptions; I have a tendency to be long-winded :)

1. How old are you?

I’m freshly twenty-two (22) years old!

2. What did you graduate with?

I graduated college with what’s known as a BSN, or a Bachelor of Science in Nursing, which essentially means I graduated from a four-year nursing program that involved a lot of clinical hours, paper-writing and patient analyses.

3. So are you a real nurse?

Technically, not yet. In every state in the United States of America, newly graduated nurses must pass what we know as the NCLEX-RN, the state licensure exams that are administered individually in each state. Once I pass that exam, I am then eligible to work in any hospital in the state in which I’m licensed. But as of right now, I’m just a girl with a college degree.

4. Why a lifestyle blog?

The first reason is easy – I don’t like to work when I’m not working. Nursing is a struggle, it can be very stressful and day in and day out for the past four years, all I’ve talked about, lived, eaten and breathed has been all about nursing. I wanted something different, something relatable and something that I enjoyed, so I decided that there’s nothing more that I enjoy sharing than little bits and pieces of who I am, thus somaticana was born.

5. Why blog at all?

One of my favorite hobbies of all time is creative writing. I loved it growing up, took advanced placement classes in English, literature and composition and really, truly enjoyed writing in the early years of my life. After starting college, however, because my major is so science-based, I never really was able to write creatively, except on the side–in my journals, notebooks and whenever I felt a bit of inspiration. This blog, in part, is in place to help me keep up my writing, vocabulary and writing style. The other part of it is that I’m currently on a gap year and was finding a month into being home that I needed a creative outlet. And since I loved writing and really enjoy the anonymity and honesty (paradoxical, much?) that can come from the blogging community, I decided that this was where I wanted to be.

6. What does “somaticana” even mean?

The name of my blog has a really, really nerdy base. The word “somatic” is a medical term that means “of the body or relating to the body” and is most often used in relation to cells. Skin cells, specifically, are thought to be somatic cells. In order to make it more reminiscent of a lifestyle blog and some sense of style that I thought was very me, I decided to combine the terms “somatic” and “americana” and came up with “somaticana,” hence the tagline.

7. What would you say are your three greatest strengths?

Hmm… I think I would have to say that I’m passionate, kind and genuine. It may take a while to get to know me, but when you do, I’d like to think that people see that I’d be willing to do anything for the people I loved. I’m the same person on and off camera, so to speak, and even though that’s the way I am now, it took me a long time to get to the point where I believed it was okay to just be me.

8. What would you say are your three biggest weaknesses?

Oof. I find it so much easier to be critical of myself…that’s one, right there. I can be self-deprecating. A long time ago, I got it into my head that modesty and humility were the same as putting yourself down. I’m learning now that they’re not even remotely related, but it’s been an uphill battle. The other two would probably be that I’m often quick to judge and I can be a little bit snobby, sometimes, if only because my natural facade and coping mechanism is indifference and ambivalence.

9. Extrovert or Introvert?

If you asked anyone around me, they would tell you I was lying, but I am most definitely an introvert. I find I’m most happy when I’m alone, feet tucked under a blanket with a hot cup of tea (yes, even in the summer) and with a good book (I’m a super bookworm). I find large groups of people to be quite draining, and even though I function well in social settings, prolonged periods of exposure makes me feel like I’ve got to be “turned on” for a really long time, which then requires me to “recharge,” so to speak and spend some time alone.

10. Favorite: food, color, book, movie, animal, band, song, etc?

In the same order: I will never, ever turn down French fries. My favorite color is green. Book? Ah, that’s so difficult…I love Ayn Rand’s Anthem if only because it taught me so much about being my own person. Movie is difficult too, I would have to say Good Will Hunting or A Beautiful Mind; I’m a sucker for those kinds of stories. Animal is definitely the monkey, otter, panda or elephant. I find them all equally adorable and fascinating. My favorite band is…currently, The Weepies, but I listen to everything because I’m a musicophile. My favorite song has no words! It’s Pavane by Gabrièl Faurè. So beautiful. So moving.

11. What can you not leave the house without?

A ring that my friend gave me in Italy and my purse; it’s full of everything I could ever want and/or need.

12. Four random things about yourself, go!

(1) I love, love, love, love tea. All kinds of tea. I fancy myself some kind of tea connoisseur and really enjoy going to tea tastings. I have about five to six cups a day, I would say and I drink it (hot) more than I do water. (2) I’m a neat freak and am meticulous when it comes to being organized, clean and tidy…some days, especially in the summer heat, I’ve taken multiple showers. When I say multiple, I mean at least three. In one day. So. Not. Healthy. (3) My favorite experience from my life, looking back, has been my time with the Forensics Speech and Debate Team at my high school. I was definitely an all-around dorky teen, but the reason I love that team and my experience on it so much is because the people I still talk to now, the friends who have become family, all go back to that team. They are my people. They always will be. (4) I have friends all over the world, literally! I went to Italy my sophomore year of college (for free!) and met forty wonderful people who are absolutely like my siblings and we live everywhere, now! One of my closest friends from college also lives in Switzerland and a few are international students who have since relocated back home in various nations. It’s awesome to have such a global network, but the crazy part is that with friends all over the world, you’re always missing someone. That’s the part that’s hard.

Well, guys, that’s me!  I hope you liked it and if you have any other questions, ask me in the comments below!

Happy adventuring!

Love, PB

 

Leave a Reply

