A Hint of Mint Julips

For the past few days now, I’ve incorporated LUSH’s Mint Julips Lip Scrub into my nighttime (and one day, it was in the morning) care routine. I want to say that at first, I was really confused as to how this stuff actually worked, but now we’re on day five or six and I’m a pro. I haven’t exfoliated every single day (that’s not super healthy), but my lips tend to peel, especially in the summer, so the light graininess of this stuff has been a godsend. Here’s my review:

Disclaimer: I received a sample of this product of my own accord. My opinions do not reflect and are not affiliated with LUSH Cosmetics and associated branding. All other products have been purchased with my own money.

As all of you know, I had taken myself to the mall and found myself in LUSH perusing their merchandise. After making two purchases (a face mask, reviewed here and a bar of soap yet to be reviewed), the beauty experts asked if I’d like to sample anything. This was awesome to me because I’m so sensitive and allergic to so many things that having this opportunity was like hitting the jackpot! I asked, meekly, for a few samples of their hair mask, the lip scrub (in Mint Julips) and their Fair Trade Foot Lotion (review, pending!). I found myself with this:

  IMG_5185 IMG_5184

As you can see, the sample size is fairly small compared to the actual product, but much to my delight, my beauty experts at LUSH had been super generous with what had given me and so with this:

IMG_5190

I was ready to begin my Mint Julips adventure. Mint Julips is made with sugar and essential oils, and has a light minty scent when you open the container. Taking a small amount of the sugar substance on my pointer finger, I proceeded to rub it onto both my bottom and top lips gently, getting more product for my bottom lip. The product does feel grainy, and the sugar granules (pictured above) lend to that texture), but after a few minutes, I could definitely feel the dead skin coming off my lips (ew and awesome)! After a minute or two of rubbing, I stopped. At this point you can do one of two things:

  1. Wash the product off
  2. Lick the product off

I tried both and found that washing the product off was much more appealing to me personally, although it tastes absolutely delicious!

After multiple uses of the product, I was finding my lips were feeling softer and healthier and were more amenable to the application of lip balm, lipstick and lip gloss because of the smoothness! A couple of tips regarding use:

  • Don’t rub too hard because it hurts. The grains of sugar are really fine so rubbing hard is like rubbing sand paper against your mouth and that doesn’t do anyone any favors.
  • Wash it off, rather than licking. Licking left a sticky, sugary residue on my face that I wasn’t really comfortable with and rinsing with warm water activated the cooling sensation of the mint! It was awesome!
  • Do this in the bathroom, for the most part. I say for the most part because while working out on my stationary bike one night, I went to town on my lips and personally, the sugar granules got everywhere. Do it in the bathroom. Unless you’re super, duper clean and don’t spill anything (I’m not).
  • Follow up this exfoliation treatment with a nourishing, moisturizing lip balm. The treatment doesn’t leave you dry, per se, but it does expose your new skin! It’s extremely thirsty and snaps up that lip balm right away and leaves your lips soft and full for the morning. Do it. You won’t be sorry!

Any experiences with this product? Have any of you tried any other flavors? Let me know what you think in the comments below! Happy Adventuring!

Love, PB

Leave a Reply

