Savvy Travelin’

With the 4th of July being a long weekend this year, I’m sure many people are took to airplanes, cars and trains and high-tailed it out of their hometowns!

I headed down south with my family and I have to say, I was so, so excited to visit the rest of my family down there and to enjoy the great company, good food and of course, the alcohol-induced laughter! I am among the youngest in the extended family, so seeing my “big cousins” (as I so fondly call my heroes) is always such a blast. This gave me an idea for this post: how do we, women of the modern world, decide what to bring? How do we pack both efficiently and effectively for weekend trips?

Have no fear, ladies (and gentlemen)! I’ll show you how it’s done ;]

Whenever I pack, I go through three main steps:

  1. How long will I be there?
  2. What will the weather be like?
  3. What are the occasions going to be like?

Let me explain. How long is pretty self explanatory – the longer you’re staying, the more you’ll need and the smarter you’ll have to pack, especially depending upon your mode of transportation. The weather is super important in my case, and in most people’s cases, as we need to take care of our skin! If it’s going to be hot, drying heat, you’ll need to make sure you bring moisturizers. If you’re going to be sweating and grimy, you’ll definitely want to pack an exfoliator with your cleanser. If you are heading into the cold, you want balms and heavy-duty moisturizers to protect your skin! Occasion has to do with how much/little I want to pack. If I am heading out for a weekend wedding, for example. I’m going to want to pack make-up and make-up remover so I can get a little fancy, but if I’m just going to spend a weekend casually barbecuing with the family, then I’ll probably just want some small make-up items and lots of sunscreen.

This trip, a Fourth of July Fabulous Fun-Time Weekend, was the latter. Therefore, I packed my general essentials in my always-packed, ready-to-go hanging cosmetic bag (mine kind of looks like this):

  • St. Ive’s Apricot Scrub
  • Aveeno Foaming Facial Cleanser
  • Conair Wide-Tooth Comb
  • Witch Hazel (toner)
  • Body Lotion/Face Lotion
  • Coconut Oil
  • Hair clips/hair ties
  • Tresemmé Heat Protectant
  • Toothbrush
  • Toothpaste
  • Shampoo, conditioner
  • Deodorant
  • Sewing kit
  • Vitamin C (I take this daily, for the most part)
  • Advil
  • Feminine care needs (just in case I’m surprised)

Now, you must be wondering how all of that fits and how everything is air-travel compliant. My secret is…travel containers. If you go to any travel section at CVS, Walgreens, RiteAid, Harmon’s, Target and Walmart, they sell many different sized (usually 1-, 2-, and 3-oz) jars, spray bottles, mist bottles and small lotion pumps that are size specifically for air travel. What I do is take my existing large products like lotion, witch hazel, coconut oil and other essentials and I transfer some into these containers and label them, leaving them in my toiletry bag so that I’m always ready to go! I developed this system after having to travel for school and work weekends in a row and always realizing that I needed to buy more of something or getting infuriated at the fact that there were no travel sizes of some items. In creating my own and using refillable containers, I not only cut down on costs, but I cut down on my headaches as well!

All in all, it makes for a happier, better-rested, well-traveled me and it made for a wonderful July 4th weekend! What about you? Any specific travel essentials? Anything you do to make sure you travel efficiently? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy adventuring!

Love, PB

Leave a Reply

