A Rose by Any Other Name

I know I’ve been raving about my DIY rosewater facial mist in almost all of my recent posts. I’ve tweeted about it. I’ve instagrammed it. I have yet to put it on Pinterest, but you better believe it’ll be up there soon. The reason this came about was first, because I’ve heard about facial mists and all the different kinds ever since my summer started and I honestly thought it was a crock. Why pay $13.00-$16.00 or more for Avene or Evian thermal spring water in a spray bottle? Ludicrous, I thought. Absurd, my brain said. And then I thought…what if I could make this myself? Thus commenced the internet search for DIY facial mists. And when I realized that you could add different natural ingredients to customize your own facial mists, I was sold!

And so, without further ado, here is what you need:

  • 1 3-oz. finger sprayer/finger spray bottle
  • bottle of Cortas rosewater (or you can make your own, but this way is much faster)
  • 1 bottle of witch hazel (keep the rest for yourself, it’s divine)
  • 1 liter of distilled water (I used an electric kettle! Love that thing).

Now for the fun part!

Step 1: Rinse out your finger spray bottle(s). 

I am a germaphobe, so I find the need to clean everything. Cleaning your bottles will also ensure, however, that you’re not going to be spraying bacteria or other undesirable microorganisms and dirt and grossness on your face. So clean them. Just rinse. I’m not saying send them into a spin cycle, just juggle some water in there and dump it out.

Step 2: Boil the water.

I used a electric kettle for this process. Distilled water is just a fancy way of saying of saying that the water that has no impurities, such as the electrolytes, ions and other substances that are found in normal tapwater. It really involves condensing steam into liquid water but that’s much too complicated, and boiling it will do. Be careful. The water will be hot.

Step 3: As the water boils, prepare the rest of your facial mist solution!

I’m not one for measuring exactly, plus the amount of rosewater and witch hazel is really up to you, depending on how much you love the smell of rosewater. I wanted something light, refreshing with just a hint of rosewater scent, but I definitely wanted something that was going to help me cleanse during the day. So to each bottle (depending on how many you are making), I added approximately one inch (one finger-width) of rosewater and one inch of witch hazel. The bottle should look one-third full at this point.

Step 4: Fill the rest of the bottle up with your distilled (boiled) water.

You’ll want to be careful here because if the water is still hot, then your spray bottles will get hot also! Let the water  cool sufficiently before adding to the mixture. Close the bottles by screwing the finger sprayer tops back on and shake gently (I didn’t even shake,  I kind of just turned each bottle upside down and then right side up again a few times).

Step 5: If the bottles are still warm, place in a cool water bath for five minutes.

The water might still be too hot to spray on your face and you don’t want to burn yourself! Take a bowl and fill it with one part water and one part ice. Place your bottles into this bath for about five minutes so that both the bottles and your facial mist cools down.

Step 6: Spray and feel glorious.

#diy rosewater facial mists are cooling! Stay tuned for my recipe! somaticana.wordpress.com

A post shared by Paula D. Binsol (@outofpost) on

Tell me how it felt in the comments below! Happy adventuring!

Love, PB

 

Leave a Reply

