Skincare Sunday: Microdermabrasion at Home 

On a recent trip to The Body Shop, I was introduced to their Vitamin C Microdermabrasion exfoliator. At-home microdermabrasion is something I have been interested in since hearing about a PMD (personal microdermabrasion) and the DermaE microdermabrasion scrub. These two initial introductions to this world of at-home microdermabrasion, however, proved to be a little bit too much for my budget, which led me on this quest to find an affordable, yet effective way to microderm at home. 

The premise behind microdermabrasion is that it is a type of what I like to call “fine exfoliation.” Generally, when one thinks of exfoliating (or when I do, at least), they think of the traditional St. Ive’s Apricot Scrub kind of exfoliation, a gritty medium mixed with some goop in order to make your skin feel soft and smooth. Microdermabrasion has a similar effect except for the fact that particles used in microderm are much finer and smaller, therefore allowing you to exfoliate only the superficial layer of the skin rather than going deeper like coarser grains do. This removal of the top layer of dead skin cells leaves the smooth, soft underbelly of young, fresh skin; exactly what you want when you are ready for a night out on the town. 

I tried this Vitamin C microdermabrasion scrub and I have to say that I thought it felt great! Not too gritty or so fine that I felt like I was rubbing sand all over my face, but I definitely felt like it was doing something. Furthermore, it felt really moisturizing, thanks to the properties of its other mixtures (includes some great natural moisturizers, awesome!). In addition, I really enjoyed the scent, which I found was uplifting and refreshing. The Body Shop recommends that you use this scrub twice weekly at most, but since my skin is sensitive and prone to dryness, I will probably only use this scrub once a week. This time, I used only my hands but another way they suggest using it is with a facial exfoliating sponge or buffer, for added benefits and an even deeper clean. 

Stay tuned for updates and tidbits on microdermabrasion! Until then, happy beginning of the week and happy adventuring! 

Love, PB

2 comments

  1. Hey Paula! It’s Jordan from Lush :) love love love your recommendations and you know I’m always down for exfoliation haha. Definitely going to check this microdermabrasion out since my skin has been a hassle lately (even though the body shop is Lush’s mortal enemy!) Let me know how that lovely jubblies is working out for you, girl. Also, can’t wait for you to see the new mothers day stuff we have coming out soon. A new limited edition body conditioner should be on it’s way, can’t wait to try it out with you!

    Like

    1. Hello, Jordan!
      Thanks for coming by and for your awesome comment! Just to give you a little more of a reference, the texture of this is even finer than that of Ocean Salt! Definitely interesting, haha. Looking forward to our next day of product testing ;)

      Like

Leave a Reply

